June 8, 2016

Being Honest ~ An Update

June 8, 2016
Hi there.  Long time no blog post.  I know.

I want to say sorry, but that doesn't make up for my absence.


April 30, 2016

2016 Biennial Writers' Conference Recap

April 30, 2016

Last Saturday, I had the privilege of attending the 2016 Biennial Writers' Conference as a student scholarship recipient.  I spent the entirety of my morning and afternoon sitting in workshops and listening to a top pick of skilled writers and orators.  Here's a quick recap of my experience.

March 31, 2016

Peach Picks: 5 YA Contemporary Recs

March 31, 2016
Ina Hattenhauer, Hallo Heute

YA contemporary is one of my favorite genres, and I've devoured a good share of YA contemporary books over the years.  In no particular order, here are five YA contemporary books I particularly hold near and dear to my heart.

March 28, 2016

Book Review: The Martian by Andy Weir

March 28, 2016

The Martian
Author: Andy Weir
Publication Date: February 11, 2014
Publisher: Crown
Genre: Science Fiction
Page Length: 369 pages
Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he's sure he'll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate the planet while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded on Mars' surface, completely alone, with no way to signal Earth that he’s alive — and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone years before a rescue could arrive.

Grounded in real, present-day science from the first page to the last, yet propelled by a brilliantly ingenious plot that surprises the reader again and again, The Martian is a truly remarkable thriller: an impossible-to-put-down suspense novel that manages to read like a real-life survival tale.

February 24, 2016

Book + Movie Review: The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

February 24, 2016

The Outsiders
Author: S.E. Hinton
Genre: YA Fiction
Ponyboy can count on his brothers and his friends, but not on much else besides trouble with the Socs, a vicious gang of rich kids who get away with everything, including beating up greasers like Ponyboy. At least he knows what to expect--until the night someone takes things too far.

Written forty-five years ago, S. E. Hinton's classic story of a boy who finds himself on the outskirts of regular society remains as powerful today as it was the day it was written.

February 9, 2016

Julia's Life Updates: January & February

February 9, 2016
Hi there!

So as you can tell, my New Year's Resolutions aren't going too wonderfully.  (*cough, cough* post more often...)

I swear I have good excuses this time, haha.  So for this first post in a long, long while, I thought I'd show you all what I've been up to these past couple of months!  Here goes:

Second Semester started off for me, and that means all new teachers, all new classes, all new lessons and homework.  This semester I'm particularly excited to be taking a YA Literature class and an Astronomy class.

For Astronomy, our first project has been keeping a Moon Journal.  We've been tasked with watching the moon over a course of a month through its phases, and reporting on its nightly position and shape among the stars via short video logs.  I'm an absolutely terrible astrophotographer, so no photo.  Sorry to disappoint. ;-)

January 24, 2016

Book Review: Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta

January 24, 2016

Saving Francesca
Author: Melina Marchetta
Publication Date: May 9, 2006
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Genre: YA Contemporary
Page Length: 243 pages
A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship with humor and heart, perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Lauren Myracle.

Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian’s, a boys' school that pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom. Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player. The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about.

Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is. Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life and—hardest of all—herself.

January 1, 2016

2015, Thanks for the Memories.

January 1, 2016
Well, it's exactly 11:59 PM here in Honolulu . . . only one minute 'till the new year.  To send off 2015 in an appropriate fashion, I decided to make one big wrap-up post to commemorate another year gone by.  This post includes favorite books, favorite memories, and pretty much anything random that pops into my head at this ungodly hour -- ha, ha!

Happy New Year everyone!  Here's to 2016.

December 22, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Santa Baby, Slip These Books Under the Tree ♪

December 22, 2015
Ina Hattenhauer, Hallo Heute

There are only a few more days until the long-awaited holiday, Christmas!  Here are ten books I'm hoping to see under the tree this year . . . (even though most haven't been released yet).
But, hey, Santa can grant ANY Christmas wish, right?

♪ Santa baby, just slip these books under the tree for me ♪

December 20, 2015

Book Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

December 20, 2015

Carry On
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Publication Date: October 6, 2015
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Genre: YA (Contemporary) Fantasy
Page Length: 522 pages
Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.
peach print | BLOG DESIGN BY Labinastudio | Header Illustration by Freepik.